Microsite es: . Grupo:
You are here

EM Opening Workshop

EM Opening Workshop

Thursday, June 16, 2011 - 09:00 to Friday, June 17, 2011 - 18:00

FEI Company, a leading scientific instrumentation company, and CIC nanoGUNE Consolider, the Basque nanoscience and nanotechnology research center, are pleased to announce the installation of three new advanced electron microscope systems from FEI. NanoGUNE now has the world’s most advanced commercially-available microscope, the Titan™ scanning transmission electron microscope (S/TEM); a Quanta™ FEG (field emission gun); and a Helios NanoLab™ DualBeam™ nanofabrication tool in its new facility. The inauguration of this new laboratory, which will be focused on nanoscience and nanotechnology research, is a key milestone in the development of the research strategy of CIC nanoGUNE and a grand opening event will be held at nanoGUNE on 16-17 June 2011 with the participation of international experts in the field.

The first day of the “EM laboratory opening workshop” will be dedicated to the inauguration ceremony and event leading up to the inaugural lecture by one of the world’s leading electron microscopy experts. The second day will continue with an exciting scientific program consisting of invited lectures. This second day of the event will be open to interested experts and non-experts alike. You can find the FULL PROGRAM in this link.

The workshop will give the possibility to introduce CIC nanoGUNE and in particular its new EM laboratory, as well as the beautiful city of San Sebastian, to a broad scientific community and will provide the opportunity for participants to communicate in an engaging and friendly environment.

Researchers interested in the field are invited to attend and participate in the discussions. Attendance is free, but the number of places is limited and will be arranged on a first-come first-served basis. For registration, please contact Julene Lure at nano@nanogune.eu before Friday 10th June.

Follow this link for information about how to get to nanoGUNE.


  • Hannes Lichte (Dresden University, Dresden, Germany)
  • Jean-Paul Morniroli (Université de Lille I, Villeneuve d’Ascq, France)
  • Gustaaf Van Tendeloo (University of Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium)
  • Rafal E. Dunin-Borkowski (Ernst Ruska Centre for Microscopy and Spectroscopy with Electrons, Juelich, Germany)
  • Jannik C. Meyer (University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria)
  • Rainer Hillenbrand (CIC nanoGUNE, Donostia – San Sebastian, Spain)
  • Etienne Snoeck
 (CEMES-CNRS, Toulouse Cedex, France)
  • José María de Teresa, (CSIC-U. Zaragoza, Zaragoza, Spain)
  • Dmitri O. Klenov (FEI Company B.V., Eindhoven, The Netherlands)
  • Alexander Latyshev (Institute of Semiconductor Physics, Novosibirsk, Russia)