nanoPeople

Research

CIC nanoGUNE focuses its research activities on the following four major strategic areas:

  • Physics of low-dimensional structures, nanostructures and nanoscale structured complex systems.
  • Synthesis, assembling, and nanofabrication of nanomaterials (nanoparticles, nanotubes, thin films, nanocomposites) and nanostructured materials.
  • Development of nanodevices and its impact on molecular electronics, spintronics, nanomagnetism, and nanophotonics.
  • Biofunctional nanoparticles and nanobiotechnology.

The research programme of the CIC nanoGUNE is implemented through 8 Research Groups, and a TEM Laboratory as follows:

Nanomagnetism group
Focused on the development of electronic nanodevices and their impact on magnetism, spintronics, and molecular electronics.
Group Leader: Andreas Berger.
a.berger@nanogune.eu
Nanooptics group
Focused on near-field optics, optoelectronics, plasmonics, the development of microscopic optical equipment, and the development of nanodevices and their effect on nanophotonics.
Group Leader: Rainer Hillenbrand.
r.hillenbrand@nanogune.eu
Self-Assembly group
Focused on the synthesis and chemical functionalization of nanostructures for their assembly in nanomaterials.
Group Leader: Alexander Bittner .
a.bittner@nanogune.eu
Nanobiomechanics group
The research is focused on atomic-force microscopy to study the mechanical features of proteins.
Group Leader: Raul Perez-Jimenez.
r.perezjimenez@nanogune.eu
Nanodevices group
Focused on the nanostructuring of a range of systems using advanced lithography and layer deposition techniques.
Group Leader: Luis Hueso.
l.hueso@nanogune.eu
Theory group
Focused on the theory and simulation of nanosystems.
Group Leader: Emilio Artacho.
e.artacho@nanogune.eu
Nanomaterials group
Focused on the synthesis and functionalization of materials.
Group Leader: Mato Knez.
m.knez@nanogune.eu
Nanoimaging group
Focused on local probe microscopy and spectroscopy.
Group Leader: Nacho Pascual.
ji.pascual@nanogune.eu
Electron Microscopy Laboratory
A world-class Electron Microscopy facility is available at nanoGUNE, including TEM/STEM, Dual Beam FIB, and ESEM.
TEM scientist: Andrey Chuvilin.
a.chuvilin@nanogune.eu
CIC nanoGUNE Consolider
Tolosa Hiribidea 76, E-20018 Donostia - San Sebastian • +34 943 574 000 • nano@nanogune.eu