nanoGUNE Workshop 2022

nanoGUNE Workshop 2022 by predoctoral researchers

The nanoGUNE Workshop 2022, organized by the predoctoral researchers, to celebrate the 13th anniversary of nanoGUNE, has been held online on January 31 2022. 

The topic selected for the seminar session this year is Ethics in Science. We will have six talks, that will cover different aspects of this topics, from the ethical responsibilities of researchers in biological investigation to the good scientific conduct to social and political implications of scientific progress.

This online event will be open to the general public and the talks are now available on nanoGUNE's youtube channel:



10.00 – 10.05 Workshop opening

10.05 – 10.45 Tamalika Banerjee (University of Groningen)

  • Ethics in Scientific Research

10.45 – 11.30 Andoni Ibarra (University of the Basque Country UPV-EHU & Käte Hamburger Kolleg Cultures of Research. RWTH Aachen University)

  • Open and socially responsible science and technology for sustainable research

11.30 – 12.15 Pedro Echenique (Donostia International Physics Center - DIPC)

  • Small points about ethics in science

12.15 – 14.00 Lunch

14.00 – 14.45 Rafael Yuste (Professor of Biological Sciences & Ikerbasque Research Professor, Columbia University and DIPC)

  • NeuroRights: Human Rights Guidelines for Neurotechnology

14.45 – 15.30 Leire Escajedo (University of the Basque Country UPV-EHU)

  • Fundamental freedom of bioscientific research and institutionalization of research ethcis: reflection is needed

15.30 – 16.15 Eugenia Stamboliev (Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Vienna)

  • AI Ethics and Politicisation of Climate Science

16.15 – 16.45 Photo contest exhibition and prizes 

16.45 – 16.50 Workshop closing



  • Andoni Ibarra, is head of the Miguel Sánchez-Mazas Chair (UPV/EHU), a unit devoted to Science, Technology and Innovation Studies, and research fellow of the Käte Hamburger Kolleg Cultures of Research, RWTH Aachen University. He is the Editor-in-chief of Theoria. An International Journal for Theory, History and Fundations of Science.
  • Eugenia Stamboliev is an academic philosopher and postdoc fellow at the University of Vienna. Holding a PhD from the Marie-Curie Training Initiative CogNovo at the University of Plymouth, and having undertaking PhD courses in philosophy at the European Graduate School in Saas-Fee, she studied on early film and the scientification of psychology, performance and robots, robot ethics and data ethics, among others. Being interested in socioeconomic and political issues within AI or data structures, the focus of her recently awarded fellowship is on data explainability and democracy (which is a WWTF funded project with Prof. Coeckelbergh, Prof. Müller, and Prof. Tschiatschek).
  • Leire Escajedo, is Full Professor at the Department of Public Law and Historical Legal Sciences (University of the Basque Country), currently coordinator of the Law and Ethics in Biosciences Teaching Unit (Faculty of Sciences and Technology). Bachelor and Doctor of Laws, Doctor in Biological Sciences, with undergraduate and posgraduate studies in Psychology. She enjoys collaborative and transdisciplinary research experiences. Her research is mainly focused on the governance of scientific and technological advances in the areas of Biomedicine, Bioeconomy and Data Economy.
  • Pedro Miguel Echenique, is the President of the Donostia International Physics Center Foundation (DIPC) and Professor of Physics at the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU). He is also former Culture and Education Minister and Spokesman of the Basque Government. His figure is essential in the development of a scientist atmosphere in Donostia, as the founder of Donostia International Physics Center, the Materials Physics Center, and CIC nanoGUNE. During his outstanding career, he received the Prince of Asturias of Scientific Research Prize, among many others honours and awards.
  • Rafael Yuste, is a Professor of Biological Sciences at Columbia University and Ikerbasque Research Professor at the DIPC. He led a small group of scientists that inspired the US BRAIN Initiative and he helped form the International Brain Initiative (IBI) in 2017. He also led the Morningside Group, a global consortium of interdisciplinary experts advocating for the ethical use of neurotechnology and artificial intelligence. He leads the NeuroRights Foundation raising awareness about the human rights and ethical implications of neurotechnology.
  • Tamalika Banerjee, is a Professor at the Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials and CogniGron Centre at the University of Groningen. She leads a research group in Spintronics of Functional Materials. She is a member of different education programs within the University as well as active in different scientific committees in the Netherlands and in EU.


PHOTO CONTEST                                                              

 Last years photo contest “nano in beauty” was a great success and many submissions of precious scientific artworks were made. This year YOU have the chance to be crowned winner of the photo contest and have your art printed in and exposed at nanoGUNEs art wall. The submission is already open, see below for this editions guidelines.

Photo contest guidelines

Submission criteria:

  • Open to all nanoGUNE members (students, researchers, technicians).
  • A maximum of three submissions per person, presented with a title and a brief description (150 words max) of the image, written in English.
  • Original images of research taking place in connection to nanoGUNE. The images should be obtained using any imaging technique, i.e. Optical microscopy, SEM, TEM, AFM/SPM, X-RAY, fluorescence microscopy, and other.  Multiple images combined into one artistic image are also welcome. 
  • Submissions must be at least 2 MB, images with too low-resolution will not be accepted.
  • Submit by sending an email subject: “Photocontest 2022 Entry” with the image(s), title and description to
  • Deadline: Sunday 16th January 23:59
  • For any questions feel free to contact us ( )

 Judging criteria

  • All nanoGUNE members can vote from January 17th to 27th on their top-3 favourite images. Only one vote per image will be allowed. 


All entrants retain copyright for work submitted. Entrants agree to all contest rules and attest the works submitted are their own and that they hold all associated copyrights. Entrants take responsibility for any possible copyright infringement and agree to allow nanoGUNE to use and/or distribute the images for nonprofit, educational purposes in print or via the Internet. 

nanoGUNE PhD Committee