Structure and Governance

NanoGUNE was legally set up as a private non-profit making association in 28 February 2006. A state-of-the-art building was inaugurated in January 2009. 

The Association is currently formed by the following partners:




And is promoted by:



nanoGUNE is a Cooperative Research Center or "CIC" (from the Spanish "Centro de Investigación Cooperativa). Cooperative Research Centers were launched by the Basque Government in order to create an effective framework of cooperation in strategic research areas, strengthen interdisciplinary basic and applied worldclass research in those areas and provide technology transfer to the industrial environment.  

NanoGUNE's governing board, currently composed by all partners, is the final responsible for the overal management of the center. The current members of the governing board are:

  • Chairman: Javier Martinez Ojinaga (CAF)
  • Vice-chairman: Ane Insausti (Regional Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • SecretaryTreasurer: Ricardo Díez Muiño (DIPC)
  • Vocals: Elias Unzueta Etxeita (PETRONOR), Guillermo Quindós Andrés (UPV/EHU)
  • Guests: Alberto Fernández (Department of Economic Development, Sustainability and Environment, Basque Government), Adolfo Morais (Department of Education, Basque Government)

Former members of the governing board are:

  • Pedro Miguel Etxenike (DIPC)
  • Roberto Gracia (Tecnalia)
  • Joseba Iñaki San Sebastián (Tecnalia)
  • Javier Rodríguez (IK4)
  • Jose Miguel Erdozain (IK4)
  • Juan Ignacio Pérez (UPV/EHU)
  • Iñaki Goirizelaia (UPV/EHU)
  • Fernando Plazaola (UPV/EHU)
  • Jose Luis Martín (UPV/EHU)
  • Arturo Muga (UPV/EHU)
  • Fernando Tapia Alberdi (UPV/EHU)
  • José Ramón Guridi (Regional Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • Joseba Iñaki Ibarra (Regional Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • Oscar Usetxi (Regional Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • Ainhoa Aizpuru (Regional Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • Imanol Lasa Zeberio (Regional Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • Jabier Larrañaga Garmendia (Regional Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • Josu Imaz (CAF)
  • José Gortazar (CAF)
  • Valentín Ruiz Santa Quiteria (PETRONOR)
  • Jon Sierra (IKOR)
  • Carmen Urizar (IKOR)
  • Mikel Alava (IKOR)
  • Aitor Larruskain Zabaleta (IKOR)
  • Alberto Fernández (Department of Industry, Innovation, Trade, and Tourism of the Basque Government)
  • Edorta Larrauri (Department of Industry, Innovation, Trade, and Tourism of the Basque Government)
  • Leire Bilbao (Department of Economic Development and Competitiveness, Basque Government)
  • Iosu Madariaga (Department of Economic Development and Infrastructure, Basque Government)
  • Alberto Ansuategi (Department of Education, University, and Research of the Basque Government)
  • Pedro Luis Arias (Department of Education, University, and Research of the Basque Government)
  • Itziar Alkorta (Department of Education, Linguistic Policy, and Culture, Basque Government)

Organization chart


The global management and organization of nanoGUNE are described in the organization chart.

Funding Agencies

Since its foundation in 2006, nanoGUNE has obtained an important amount of competitive funding from the local Governments, Industry, and the European Union.